top of page

Applying for Jobs: Animation Software

Lately I have been searching for jobs around the area of Liverpool, not to apply to them right now per say, but more to see what opportunities there are around the area and what I would need to apply to them. Animation being the area that I am interested in, though any graphic design internship would be good to start with.


One thing I have noticed about most animation jobs, is how they ask for experience in 3D software’s, which at this particular moment, I do not have any.


From researching, it seems there are several software’s that are the industries standards. Such as the software Autodesk Maya. I looked into Maya and they do have a student one-year free trial, which is fantastic news so now I have signed up to online classes from Skillshare to try to learn this new skill.


While I prefer traditional animation, both for the method of how it is done and how it looks in the end, I will learn absolutely anything that will give me more of a chance to find a job in the area I want to. While researching I also found this movie called “Wolfwalkers” that came out this last year, which uses 3D models to bring two-dimensional animation to life. It really interested me to see how newer software can help bring movies that feel traditional to life and it is something that I would love to learn more of and will definitely be looking into.

bottom of page